St Nathy’s Sci-Fest 2023

On Friday last 1st, 2nd and Transition Year students participated in our schools SciFest competition. There were some fascinating projects on display with a lot of hard work and effort put in by all students the past few weeks to get their projects finished to such a high standard. 👩🏻‍🔬🧑‍🔬🧫🧬🧪
🥇 1st Year student Meabh Lavin scooped the overall prize on the day as well as the Eirgrid sustainability award for her project on a “Passive House” which showcased the importance of sustainability in the future of building in Ireland. 
🥈Transition Year students Molly Frain and Sarah Creaton won overall runner up as well as 1st place in the Transition Year category with their project “Tingly or Cringy? Does ASMR work”. 
In the First Year category Lucia McDonnell, Saerlaith Dillon and Zoe McDonagh placed 1st with their project on “Pink Tax – hear the facts” while Idrissa Serry placed 2nd with his project on “The water holding capacities of various soil types”. 
In the Second Year category the prizes were awarded as follows: 
🥇1st Place – The Best Tan Remover by Serena Hanley, Ryan McGarry and Sinéad Morris
🥈2nd Place – Now you see me, now you don’t by Aoife Cattigan and Lauren Duffy. 
🥉3rd Place – When random isn’t so random by Anniemai Giblin, Mollie Jordan and Aisling Maloney. 
2nd Place in the Transition Year category went to Rebecca McDonagh with her project “Out of this world” while 3rd Place went to Marty Murray, Conor Taheny and Gordon Casey where they 3D printed a water purifier. 
Congratulations and very well done to all students who participated in the SciFest competition it was a huge success and we look forward to next years competition!! 
A special word of thanks to our judges on the day Dr. Billy Fleming (SciFest), Mr. Alex McDonnell, Mr. Declan Dunne, Mr. Tom Colleran, Dr. Oonagh Redmond and Ms. Annie Regan. We really appreciate you all taking the time out to attend and judge our SciFest competition. 
And last but not least a huge thank you to our science teachers Ms. J Brennan, Mr. O Brady, Mr. J Guilfoyle, Mr J. Dolan, Ms. C Mooney, Ms. A Scally and Ms. J Conlon.  Without their hard work and dedication this day would not have been possible. 

Leave a Comment